Isadore T. Davis Award
Scott Danielson

Questions regarding awards/awards nominations may be forwarded to Sylvie Nguyen-Fawley.

Questions regarding Fellow Member nominations may be forwarded to Tim Manicom.

Scott Danielson, Ph.D., P.E.


Dr. Scott Danielson, P.E, is a faculty member in the Polytechnic School of the Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering at Arizona State University (ASU). Before returning to the faculty, Dr. Danielson was an Associate Dean for almost four years in the Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering and the College of Technology and Innovation. Before assuming these Associate Dean roles, he had been an engineering technology department chair at ASU for over 13 years.
He has been active in ASEE, serving as chair of two different divisions, the Mechanics Division and the Engineering Technology Division. Within ASME, he served as a member and co-editor of the Vision 2030 Task Force, which highlighted input and a significant data set related to industry supervisors view of early career mechanical engineers. This industry input led to the formation of series of recommendations to improve mechanical engineering education. He was awarded the ASME Ben C. Sparks Medal in 2009 and 2013 (team award) for excellence in mechanical engineering education. His service with ABET includes being an evaluator for two societies, an Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission member and officer, becoming chair in July 2020. He has served two short terms on the ABET Board of Directors.
A colleague at ASU and he worked to create the iProjects program within the College of Technology and Innovation. The iProjects program focused on industry-sponsored projects,

with industry contributing significant funds for a multidisciplinary student team working on two-semester projects. The iProject program was included in the National Academy of Engineering’s Infusing Real World Experiences into Engineering Education (2012).

He is co-principal investigator of ASU’s Building University-Industry Learning and Development through Innovation and Technology Alliance (BUILD-IT) project (project spans 2016 – 2022) related to including implementing quality systems, project-based curriculum spine and the maker innovation network in Vietnam.

About the award

The Isadore T. Davis Award for Excellence in Collaboration of Engineering Education and Industry was jointly established and endowed by ASEE’s Corporate Member Council, Engineering Deans Council, Engineering Technology Council, Engineering Research Council, and College-Industry Partnership Division.

The award celebrates the spirit and leadership of individuals who make a mark in improving partnerships or collaborations between engineering or engineering technology education and industry. The award is intended to promote collaborations and partnerships between engineering or engineering technology education and industry to improve learning, scholarship, and engagement practices within the engineering education community.